IFBB Malta

About the IFBB and IFBB Malta

International Federation of BodyBuilding and Fitness (IFBB) the governing body of the sport of bodybuilding and fitness, was founded by brothers Joe and Ben Weider in 1946 in Montreal, Canada and it's current President is Dr Rafael Santonja. IFBB headquarters are located in Madrid, Spain.

The IFBB organize worldwide in a yearly basis over 1400 events. The major IFBB events are World Men Championship and Congress, World Fitness Championships, World Classic Bodybuilding Championship, World Junior and Master Championships, Arnold Classic Weekends and the Mr. Olympia Amateur.

IFBB is member of SportAccord (World Association of International Sport Federations) International World Games Association, UNESCO, ICSSPE (International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education), amongst many other prestigious international bodies, being recognized as the sole International Sport Federation for the sport of Bodybuilding and Fitness in full compliance with the WADA Code.

IFBB Malta is a full member to IFBB and locally is the only Bodybuilding Association recognised by the Maltese Olympic Committee and National Institutions. The committee is elected by the members every two years during the AGM.

The scope of the Association is to promote the disciplines of bodybuilding and fitness and educate members about the benefits of an active healthy lifestyle.

This group's aim is to create an informal platform for the sharing of ideas, news regarding IFBB activities and easy access to the wealth of knowledge which more experienced athletes have. The committee operates an open door policy in order to help further develop our sport disciplines and encourage participation in events especially for new comers.

The current committee members are:

President & International Judge- Ralph Decelis
Secretary and Chairperson Women's Section - Blanche Coppola
Treasurer & International Judge - Trevor Taliana
Committee members: Kenneth Camilleri, Antoine Micallef, and Marc Mizzi

Women's sub-committee-Kelly Blake & Avy Taliana

Gozo sub-commitee:Rodney Camilleri, Jason Mintoff & Giovanna Bajada