Holiday in the Cook Islands


Welcome to The Cook Islands

Turou! Turou! Turou!
Oro mai! Oro mai! Oro mai!
Turou e to te Kuki Airani
Akarongo mai! Akara mai! Tuatua mai!

Photos with comments of your holidays in the Cook Islands can be posted. But PLEASE NO RUDE PICS OR WORDS to be used, meitaki maata - thank you.

The COOK ISLANDS is a group of 15 tiny islands + 2 REEFS, in the South Pacific Ocean.

The Cook Islands still remains an unspoilt destination, with some of it's islands being so remote, that only a few have had the chance to venture across the vast pacific ocean to visit these islands.

Rarotonga is the capital island of the group and the youngest island. It is also the port for International flights from Los Angeles, Tahiti, New Zealand, and the Sydney to Rarotonga direct flight.

Air Rarotonga is the Cook Islands Airline for flights to the outer islands of Aitutaki, Mangaia, Atiu, Mauke and Mitiaro. There are also occasional flights to Pukapuka, Manihiki, and Penrhyn, but not frequent.

Air Tahiti Nui flies in and out of Rarotonga once a week, on Thursdays.

The Cook Islands are separated into two groups:

The Southern Groups are-

Rarotonga - Tumutevarovaro, is the capital of the Cook Islands; Mangaia - Au'au Enua, is the second largest island; Aitutaki - Araura Enua;
( These next 3 islands are known by their combined name Nga Pu Toru - Atiu - Enua Manu, Land of the birds; Mauke - Akatokamanava, Garden of the islands; Mitiaro - Nukuroa, Face of the ocean );
Manuae is a sanctuary; Takutea is a sanctuary; and Palmerston is a settlement for the William Marsters family

The Northern Groups are-

Pukapuka - Island of beautiful girls; Manihiki - Island of Pearls; Rakahanga - The undiscovered island; Penrhyn - Tongareva; Suwarrow - Treasure Island, A conservation reserve; and Nassau - Garden of Eden...